randomness starts here:

mixed interests

Archive for the day “February 2, 2012”

start again..

Alright.. here we go.

I think I’m liking children books more than YA books. Or I’m just.. really childish. I like Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book. IMO, Coraline is just plain creepy with all those illustrations of the ‘other mother’ eating bettles like they’re chocolates (how dare she!). And the hand, dude, the hand. I hope it won’t be able to get back to the surface.

The Graveyard Book is about a not-being-used-anymore graveyard but the spirits/ghosts of the buried people there are still active and very much alive (as spirits). Then this living toddler came in the middle of the night and turned their lives upside-down.

They’re fun to read, although I get goosebumps every now and then coz I have this habit of reading horror/scary books during midnight.

Speaking of creepy illustrations, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children got tons of peculiar photos. Check it out. It’s also fun to read.

For manga, uhm.. Franken Fran? But it’s not for small kids. It’s a wonder why I like this manga when I don’t even like seeing blood, let alone guts and other internal organs. Or a girl with a caterpillar body, or an old guy with a certain dog’s brain, or a head and a hand for a person, or jellyfishes that can absorb memories, or an octopus who can trick you into thinking that it is your younger sister.

It’s sick and creepy and bloody and all that but it’s addicting.

I’m still looking for more dark-themed children books. If you can suggest some, that’d be a great help. Thanks 🙂

Post Navigation